Sitting Down is soooo Bad!

Standard

I sit a lot.

I’m at my computer, in front of the TV, in my car, in meetings, at the table, visiting friends. I used to be a road warrior, so I was doing a lot of walking from parking lots to airports, and no matter what gate you come in on a connecting flight, your connection is ALWAYS at the farthest gate from that one! Not to mention walking to your hotel room, rental car, shuttles, yada yada. Now that I’m living much more “conveniently” I have to get my happy butt up!

One thing I started doing was using my exercise ball as my chair.

Most Americans think it is better to have a desk job rather than a job that keeps you moving. Well, those darn people that do studies are disabusing us of that idea. Seems we’re spending more time sitting than sleeping and that is causing a whole host of problems starting with back and hip problems and those are just the tip of the iceberg.

Its not just your butt & gut that droops, these drop too:

  • Electrical activity to the legs
  • Cholesterol
  • Digestive enzymes (metabolic rate)
  • Even insulin effectiveness

So now when I’m at the computer, I’m getting into the habit of using an online timer set for 45 minutes. when it goes off, I stop whatever I’m doing and get up and set it for 15 minutes and do housework in one room. It is flat out amazing how much you can do in 15 minutes! Then it is back to the computer for another 45 minutes.

Maybe if  you’re in an office, when your timer goes off just get up and go for a walk around the building, inside or out!

Even though Herb looks at me funny, every commercial I’ve started getting up and dancing to whatever music is on the ads, or just sort of march in place or Cupid Shuffle to the tune in my head if it is just talking.

Leave a Reply

