Check Those Food Labels!!

Standard

Dang!

I’ve been a food label reader for so long it is just second nature to me, but something got under my radar… dill pickles. I’m a dill pickle nut, but I guess I just never read the label.

Last night I watched a special by Dr. Gary Null and he was talking about the nutritionless things on a plate of hamburger & french fries & pickle. I figured the pickle was the only thing worth eating on the plate – WRONG!

He said the pickle was loaded with sodium (?) that’s usally on the top of my radar. How in the world have I gone for so many years – as long as they’ve been forced to use food labels – and not read about my pickles?? Not only sodium but:

Kosher Dill Pickle Spear (Cucumbers, water, vinegar, high fructose corn syrup, salt, potassium chloride, magnesium chloride, calcium chloride, 0.1% sodium benzoate (preservative), natural and artificial flavors )  and this is the KOSHER dill. Other dill pickles have yellow dye #5!!!

Not only that but the pickles I’ve got in my ‘fridge right now are spears and the label says the serving size is 3/4 pickle – not even a full spear! I’m so disappointed!

So then I got to thinking about my other go-to quick snack – olives: black, green, kalamata. The label of the manzanillas I have show as much sodium as my pickles.

Let this be a lesson folks – all processed foods must be scrutinized closely.

Now I have to go find a low salt/salt free (?) dill pickle recipe…

Leave a Reply

