March – Adding a fun new fitness regime

Standard

Happy Colors!

Good morning, Red Juice!

This made just under 32 oz of  juice

  • 1/4 head red cabbage
  • 1/2 cucumber
  • bunch parsley
  • 2 orange peppers
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 2 carrots
  • 1 pear
  • 1 apple
  • 1 lemon
  • 1 small piece ginger

About 3 years ago I was taking NIA classes in Flat Rock and had to discontinue. I loved NIA (Non-Impact Aerobics) because it is a full body hour-long workout, encorporating all your muscle groups and joints. After the hour you are both exhilarated and exhausted and yet there is no next-day stiffness or soreness as you expect with other bust your butt workouts. NIA is gentle, thorough and effective.

Dancin' With Denise

So I was thrilled to learn my teacher, Denise, a NIA black belt certified instructor, had produced her own dvd using NIA technique! I scurried up the mountain and bought one !

I put it in my player and the audio was messed up – a constant high pitched whine & Denise’s voice was garbled. Tried to play it on my computer and Media Player balked. A few days later, I tried it on a friend’s player and the dvd played just fine. Tried it in my machine again yesterday and ta-da! it works perfectly. Go figure, eh?

This is a hour long jazzy routine uses the soundtrack from Smokey Joe’s Cafe. Denise’s workout will be a nice addition to my joyful movement repitoire as I love the Power 90 regime, but after a while anything gets a little boring.

What I really love about NIA is you are taught to listen to your body. You can make the movements as deep or expansive as your body tells you it is comfortable with. Maybe today you bend to the ground, maybe just to your knees – its all up to how your body feels like moving right now. No competition with others, only yourself and only in this moment. How kind is that? And it is very effective in making your body happy, flexible and healthy when you continue the practice.

By the end of the hour I was ready to stretch and relax! If you’ve not heard of NIA, I suggest you check it out – I think you’ll love it, too!

Leave a Reply

