Reboot 30 – Day 2

Standard

Pomelo - more rind than fruit!

Made an interesting juice this morning. You know I’m a big fan of eating a rainbow and having a wide variety of fruits & veggies 1) to make sure I don’t get bored and 2) to make sure I get all the nutrients my body needs.

I found this huge grapefruit looking thing at the grocers called a pomelo. I love grapefruit so I got one.  I did eat a small piece as I cut it for my juice (its not cheating, its science!) and it was very much like a grapfruit but more mellow. Actually I think you get more fruit from a regular grapfruit so i won’t be laying down $2 to get another one of these.

Adding this to my juice, I didn’t add any lemon. With everything else in the juice (kale, celery,  cucumber, parsley, apples, carrots, ginger) the main flavors were from the kale & pomelo.

Yesterday I was saying how bread seems to really go right for my belly. Then I found this article from a newsletter I get from Prevention magazine. Ya know how so many people are having trouble digesting wheat and are forced into gluten free diets? This doctor supports what so many other experts are saying about the health dangers of genetically modified foods. Check this out:

The Worst Food for Your Belly

 

When we asked cardiologist William Davis, M.D., what the worst food for your heart is, he didn’t spend long thinking. His answer: Wheat.

Then he told us that it’s also the worst food for your belly. In fact, because of this, he’s actually coined a new term. “I call it wheat belly, though I could have just as easily called this condition pretzel brain or bagel bowel or biscuit face since there’s not an organ system unaffected by wheat,” says Dr. Davis, author of the new book,Lose the Wheat, Lose the Weight. “But wheat’s impact on the waistline is its most visible characteristic.”

If you’re carrying around excess belly flab, Dr. Davis’s advice is clear: Give up the wheat. While that may sound drastic, he says that it doesn’t mean never eating pizza, cookies, and cheesecake again. And that when you kick the wheat out of your diet, you actually quit craving wheat-filled foods.

Just how powerful is this wheat-free approach? “When my patients gave up wheat, they lost an average of 26.7 pounds each,” says Dr. Davis. This isn’t an isolated finding: According to a Mayo Clinic and University of Iowa study, test subjects lost an average of 27.5 pounds each on a wheat-free diet.

Of course, you’re probably wondering: Why is wheat so bad for my waistline? The answer is simple: Because it’s not really wheat anymore, says Dr. Davis. He explains that in the 1960s, a small group of scientists in Mexico set out to make wheat easier to grow and more pest resistant. That was good for the farmers, but bad for your health and your weight. The reason, according to Dr. Davis: Genetic engineering transformed wheat into a super carbohydrate that wreaks havoc on your body and makes you fat. And yes, says Dr. Davis, this even applies to the so-called “healthy” whole wheat that nutritionists say you should eat.

Copied from a Prevention email newsletter and you can learn more about Dr. Davis’ book: Lose the Wheat, Lose the Weight.
Leave a Reply

