3rd 60 – Getting back into the swing!

Standard

Getting back to juicing and remembering why I enjoyed it so the first time. Feel great, like an extra light shining in my brain (through all the holes in my head – ha!) I juiced the last of the broccoli leaves this morning, so its back to kale as my staple green. It is wonderful how the kale is less bitter  in the winter.

Beautiful purple-top turnips with an orange for scale

I’ve been eating a lot of turnips, one of my favorite veggies. I eat them roasted, boiled, mashed and love ’em to pieces. My younger brother always requests turnips at our big family holiday meals.

So, I added a turnip to the juice and am really impressed that one large turnip yielded 1 full cup of snowy white juice.

The turnip juice really dominated and turned the batch a little bitter, so I added another apple, carrot and bit of ginger and that mellowed it right out.

From now on, I’ll only juice a smaller turnip (like the size on the left) or only half a large one. The greens are supposed to be even more nutritious than the bulb, but, like the mustard green (and you know how I feel about mustard greens) they are just too bitter for words.

2 responses »

  1. Hi Nadine,
    I’m working on a story about juicing for CHOW.com, a San Francisco-based food website. I’d like to interview juicing enthusiasts about their experiences, and am wondering if you would be able to speak with me for my story. If you could let me know either way, I’d appreciate it. Thank-you!

Leave a Reply

