2nd 60 – Day 57 – Back in the Saddle Again!

Standard

Oh, I’ve really done it this time…  I’m just finishing my C25K program and last night at a business function I ran into a friend of mine who is an extraordinary athlete. Carol Jean has won many running, cycling and triathlon matches, including the 4,000plus mile trek from the Pacific Ocean in Ca to the Atlantic Ocean in New Hampshire. She is truly an inspiration. Well, last night she “adopted” me  and made me promise compete with her,  and with her as my coach, in a 5-mile race called the Warrior Drive 5.

First,  I must confess that while I have completed the C25k and can now “run” for 30 minutes – I do not believe I am going the actual distance of 5k or 3.1 miles. I am not sure you can really call what I do running. I describe it as a jog-ish movement that is somewhat faster than a walk, well my walk anyway.

And I’ve been doing this program exclusively at our lovely Harmon Field on flat, well maintained walking paths – no cars, imperfections in the asphalt or mountainous inclines.

The Warrior Drive 5 is a race where elite athletes including Olympians have competed. This race takes place on St Patrick’s Day 2012 so I’ve got to get busy because Carol Jean is expecting me to place in the top 3  in my age division (srsly? silly woman!)

Its raining today – but Shelby and I are going to walk the course today and every other day for the rest of the week, then I’m getting busy and going to start running, using my C25k podcasts to get my pace going uphill!

How do I get myself into these things?

 

4 responses »

  1. Thanks for the link of Carol Jean to my http://www.50athletesover50.com site. CJ is quite and inspiration and is featured on the cover of the book. I have a new book coming out soon, called Feel Younger – Now! Let me know if you would like to do a review or if you are interested in any guest bloggers.
    Keep up the great work!
    Don

    • Hi Don – yes I’d enjoy reviewing your book and I’m interested in guest bloggers, too. Kip & CJ are some of the coolest people I know! Thanks for the kind words.

      • I will let you know when the book is out and I’ll write a guest blog for you then too.
        It will probably be early in 2012. I look forward to it.

  2. Pingback: 3rd 60 – Happy New Year!! « ReCLAIM My Life

Leave a Reply

