2nd 60 – Day 24 – Push Ups

Standard

Gotta share this – I’m about to burst! Today, while doing my Power 90 Sculpt circuit this morning, I did the pushups on my toes !!!! This is big stuff!

When I began this journey, my idea of a good push up was either a fine brassiere  or ice cream treat  rather than a fitness move.

At first I could only do 5 regular in part one, 5 wide in part two and in part three you are supposed to do 10 wide, 10 close and 10 regular. Well, I did 5 wide, just sort of hunched my shoulders down 5 times for the close ones and then 5 regular.

After 64 days consistently following the P90 program, I could do 15 in each of part one & two and 10 of each style in part three. Although the close ones are still not pretty in form, I think they would still be classified as push ups…

So this morning, I just got the thought to do them from my toes. What a difference! Rather than feeling like all the power is in my shoulders and triceps, you can REALLY feel it in the abs/core area.

I have to admit, I’m back to doing 5 reps but that’s okay because now I know I’ll work up to the max if I just keep doing it.

Later in the morning, I took Shelby to Harmon Field for Day2Week5 of the C25K program. Warm up walk, jog 8 minutes (that’s eight minutes? Yes, I said eight minutes – I know, right?) walk 5, jog 8. It was tough but I did it (yea!)

My mind swung like a pendulum between feeling amazing that I was able to jog not uncomfortably for the prescribed time, then I found I was psyching myself out – thinking about Day 3 coming up on Friday – warm up walk for 5 minutes then jog for 20 minutes (!!).  Thinking I’ll never be able to do that. Then thinking, “Heck yes I can – I didn’t think I could do any of this!”  If I survive, I’ll tell ya all about it.

One response »

Leave a Reply

