Day 56 – Protein: Is the Cow Safe?

Standard

More folks are starting to notice the change I’m going through and asking about what I’m doing. I spoke with a lady last night about my juicing. She is wondering if she can fix her cholesterol problem with diet alone as her doctor wants to put her on pills. She’s concerned enough to have made an appointment with an ND. I told her to get the 2 movies Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead and Forks over Knives. I also told her juicing was making me feel great: lots of energy, sleeping better, no more feeling the endless insatiable cravings.

First question she asked was where are you getting your protein? That’s usually one of the first questions I’m asked when people learn I’m juicing for 60 days.

I too, asked myself the same question when I started. My sister the physical therapist was very concerned. And here’s what I’ve learned from a variety of nutrition sites, not all vegan/vegetarian, either And a lot has to do with what you consider a serving, too – most of these figures are for a cup or 100g serving.

Protein in Legumes: lentils (8 g), black beans (8 g), kidney beans (8 g), chickpeas (12 g), pinto beans (7 g), black-eyed peas (7 g)

Protein in Grain: brown rice (5 g), buckwheat (8 g), millet (8 g), oatmeal(9 g) , quinoa (8 g), wheat (7 g), wild rice (8 g)

Vegetable Protein: Artichokes (4 g), beets (2 g), broccoli (4 g), brussels sprouts (3 g), cauliflower (2 g),  kale (10 g), lettuce, mushroom (3 g), peas (9 g), potatoes (2 g), spinach (5 g), tomatoes (6 g),   yams (2 g).

 Protein in Fruit: Apple, banana, cantaloupe, grape, grapefruit, honeydew melon, orange, papaya, peach, pear, pineapple, strawberry, tangerine, watermelon

Protein in Nuts and Seeds: Almonds (5 g), cashews (5 g), peanuts (6 g), pumpkin seeds, (8 g) sesame seeds (6 g), sunflower seeds (7 g), walnuts (English) (7 g)

Additionally,super greens like spirulina and chlorella provide an excellent source of protein (70% to 90% in some cases).

So the next question is how much protein do you need? According to Eat to Live By Joel Fuhrman, almost any assortment of plant foods contain about 30 to 40 grams of protein per 1,000 calories, easily meeting Furhman’s recommended range of 40 to 70 g protein per 1,200 to 1,800 calorie day.

Additionally, Dr. Colin T. Campbell’s The China Study, based on 20 years of research sums it up, “People who ate the most animal-based foods got the most chronic disease… People who ate the most plant-based foods were the healthiest and tended to avoid chronic disease. The results could not be ignored.”

So to my sister and to my friend I say, I’m alert, energetic, my hair looks great and my nails are strong enough to use as screwdrivers (!) so I’m getting plenty of protein.

The cows in my neighborhood are safe!

5 responses »

  1. I love the title of your blog…. Reclaim My Life. That’s what i’m trrying to do by losing weight and keeping it off. I have lactose intolerance so the cows are safe in my neightborhood as well. Good luck on your weight loss journey. FatGirlUSA, a.k.a. Bridgette

    • I’ve been using a Hamilton Beach Wide Mouth juicer we got at Walmart a few years ago for under $40. Until I started this juice-fest, we only used it occasionally. But I’ve been using it 1-2 times daily for 2 months and its holding up great. Some of the pulp is moist so I know I’m not getting 100% of the juice, but it puts out plenty and is super easy to feed and clean. I’ve also been looking into other juicers that are waaaay more expensive and looking at reader comments, they all fall short in some area, so the HB suits me fine.

Leave a Reply

