Day 22 – On a Roll!

Standard

I’m very pleased with this regime – check out my progress thus far – I’m averaging about a 1/2 pound a day & working on making exercise a habit. I’m really seeing the difference in the way my clothes fit and just over all moving is better –  a bit more free & light.

Went with a friend to Red Hill Orchard to get another 1/2 bushel of peaches.  You can buy them by the small basket, 1/4 bushel or 1/2 bushel and if you pick them yourself its even cheaper. These cost $15 for the half bushel.

Fresh you-pick-em peaches from Red Hill Orchard

Herb put up about one and a half bushels earlier in the summer and he’s been eating peach pies and cobbler like crazy and has gone through most of them already – that man can sure make an awesome pie crust.

Anyway, these are a combination of Monroe and Autumn Prince. I ate at least 3 in the orchard (picking is hard work!) and one of the Monroe peaches, hot from the sun, tastes just like peach flavored honey – almost too sweet!

Then as if that weren’t enough fruit – my friend takes me to her house and makes me banana ice cream. Now before you gasp and point the cheater fingers at me, her banana ice cream is just frozen banana. You cut up a peeled banana and throw it in the freezer. When it is frozen, you take it out and put it in the food processor (not the blender) and let it rip – you end up with a sweet frozen dish that is the EXACT consistency of fresh creamy homemade ice cream! You can add a little chocolate syrup or whatever, but it is soooo good on its own. When she cuts them up, she puts one banana each into its own vacuum sealed packet – she says that’s a good portion- 1 banana per serving. Wait till Herb tries this!

The way I put peaches up for my use in smoothies and such is I cut then into eighths and set them skin side down on an extra large pie pan and pop them in the freezer for 3 hours, then I put them into freezer bags. That way they don’t freeze together in one unruly blob and I can easily pull out however many I need.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Start Over – Day 3 « ReCLAIM My Life

Leave a Reply

