Day 10 – Juicing or juices?

Standard

When a friend of mine learned I was making fruit smoothies in my blender she asked if that was “cheating”? Well, I don’t know.

I use my juicer for veggies (kale, carrots, celery, etc.) and hard fruits like apples and pears. I use my blender for soft fruits like fresh peaches, berries, pineapple, banana, etc.  I do not add anything like yogurt, protein powder, or whatever so it is still just juice.

My Hamilton Beach Juice Extractor and Smoothie Freeze Blender

The juicer I use is a Hamilton Beach Juice Extractor. Herb picked this up a few years ago for about $40.

I like the wide mouth because I don’t have to cut things up in little pieces. It is super easy to clean; I use a toothbrush on the strainer. It leaves a little more moisture in the pulp than I would like and maybe a higher quality juicer would get more of that, but this puts out a lot of juice. I put the pulp right onto the flower beds rather than the compost heap because it is already quite broken down and will work its way into the soil with the rain. This juice fast is gonna be GREAT for my flower beds!

I got my Back to Basics Smoothie Freeze blender about 2 years ago for $20.

And for the past 2 years I’ve used the blender almost daily making mega healthy breakfast smoothies: 1 banana plus 1 cup frozen or fresh (berries or peaches or pineapple) plus 1/2 cup plain yogurt, 1/2 scoop chocolate flavored whey protein powder plus 1/2 tsp Vitamin-C powder, 1/4 tsp spirulina, 1/8 tsp cinnamon and a couple shakes of nutmeg.

Now, on this juice fast, I only blend the fruit – no extras. The re-boot program I’m sort of following allows for juicing fruits, but because they are so high naturally in fructose (sugar) I only do fruit-only juices once a day. Also, I like the fact that I’m getting all the fiber from the blended fruits, too!

So if this is cheating, I can live with that!

Leave a Reply

